01 June 2010


Three students representing San Fernando TML, Santa Rosa Government and Bishops Anstey Junior schools emerged the Zonal Winners of the NALIS Biannual National Library Quiz. They will compete for the Lynette Hutchinson Challenge Trophy, individual and school prizes at the Finals on June 18, 2010 at the National Library.

Each school will face five rounds of questioning from three categories: Books and Authors, Library Skills and General Knowledge. All books and learning materials were supplied to schools.

The preliminary round of this year’s competition attracted 198 students, representing 66 schools, from across the country. The winners from the preliminary rounds were from the following primary schools: Princes Town ASJA, San Fernando TML, Siparia Hindu, Dayanand Memorial Vedic, St Mary’s Government, St David’s RC, Cunupia Government, Warrenville TIA, Rio Claro Hindu, Santa Rosa Government, North Oropouche RC, Bishops Anstey Junior, Woodbrook Presbyterian, Dow Village Government, St Joseph Boys RC and Gandhi Memorial Vedic.

The National Library Quiz Competition began in 1984 and engages fifth standard students who have completed the SEA examination. The objectives are to promote the library as a centre for recreation and information, provide a useful activity for fifth standard students in the term after their examination, expose children to a core collection of books, encourage reading and develop life-long readers.

For additional information on the National Library Quiz kindly a Public Library near you.